Greater Manchester Sports Awards Acknowledge the Region’s Finest Sporting Talents


THE 17th annual Greater Manchester Sports Awards took place on Friday 17th November, at Lancashire Cricket Ground.

The event, organised by GreaterSport, showcased the exemplary sporting talent across a range of ages, ethnicities and background in the Greater Manchester area.

The awards also acknowledged those who selflessly give up their own time in order to provide opportunities for others to participate in physical activity and sport.

BBC Radio Manchester’s Chelsea Norris was the night’s host, whilst former Manchester United defender Gary Neville was guest speaker for an audience of around 550.

There were eight awards on the night, with each borough in Greater Manchester submitting a finalist for every prize.

Wigan were certainly the most successful region on the evening, claiming four awards, including Daniel Dawoud, who won Disabled Sports Achiever of the Year.

“Sport can be a great catalyst for so many things, it can be that starting point to go on and do something amazing,” Dawoud, who has represented Great Britain in Wheelchair Rugby, told Quays News.

“For me, it gave me that independence and before I did sport I wasn’t able to travel on my own. But now I’m able to travel the world, and it’s all because of sport,” he added.

One of the other big winners on the night were Chadderton Park Sports Club, who claimed the Club of the Year Award

Their former Chairman Frank Nolan said: “We’ve been in this position a few times over the years, but this is the first win we’ve had and it’s a fantastic feeling.”

The club who initially began as a football team, have grown to offer a wide range of sports for all age groups.


Awards Winners:

  • Changing Lifestyle award – Anita Nickson (Stockport)
  • Club of the Year – Chadderton Park Sports Club (Oldham)
  • Coach of the Year – Rick Atkinson (Wigan)
  • Disabled Sports Achiever of the Year – Daniel Dawoud (Wigan)
  • School Commitment to PE & Sport – Rose Hill Primary School (Stockport)
  • Sports Achiever of the Year – Danni Williams (Wigan)
  • Volunteer of the Year – Nicola Steen (Tameside)
  • Unsung Hero – Mike Hack (Wigan)

About Author

Leave A Reply