Who We Are

Quays News is an online news platform run by a dedicated team of students at the University of Salford. We report on stories predominantly in and around Salford and Manchester, producing web content and broadcasting our weekly Quays News television and radio programmes from our state-of-the-art studios at MediaCityUK.

First launched in 2012, Quays News has been providing students with a live platform to develop and hone their reporting and content production skills. Embedded into curriculum for assessment purposes, it is also run as an extra-curricular site by a team of dedicated volunteers.

The team represents all levels of journalism at the university, from first year undergraduates through to postgraduates. As an open collaborative project, Quays News also regularly welcomes students from a range of other programmes across the university including BA TV & Radio and BSc Professional Sound and Video Technology.


Meet the Team

Content Editor

Emily Murray

Emily Murray –  e.v.murray@salford.ac.uk / @EmilyVMurray

TV Technical Team

Mike Halligan - Technical Intern

Mike Halligan – Technical Intern – m.d.halligan@salford.ac.uk / @MikeHalligan

Neil Salmon

Neil Salmon – Broadcast Production Team Leader – n.salmon@salford.ac.uk

Sports Team

Abigail Withey - Sports Editor a.withey@edu.salford.ac.uk / @awitheyjourno

Abigail Withey – Sports Editor
a.withey@edu.salford.ac.uk / @awitheyjourno

James Diamond - Assistant Sports Editor J.diamond1@edu.salford.ac.uk / @JamesDiamond0

James Diamond – Assistant Sports Editor
J.diamond1@edu.salford.ac.uk / @JamesDiamond0

Online Team

Will Stevenson – Online and Entertainment Editor – willstevenson96@googlemail.com / @willreviews

Claire King – News Editor – c.king3@edu.salford.ac.uk / @ClaireLKing

Natalie Rees - Social Media Editor

Natalie Rees – Social Media Editor – n.a.rees@edu.salford.ac.uk / @quaysnat


Want to get involved with Quays News? Just drop any one of our team members a message!

Got a story? Email editor@quaysnews.net.